Are stories mirrors?

I have always been fascinated by the search for meaning. From a young age, I wanted to understand what was truly real. When I first heard about God, I have to admit, it didn’t make much sense to me. How could someone so distant and unseen be relevant to my everyday life?

Growing up, I was surrounded by people who placed a lot of importance on money. I even remember seeing an advertisement for a tree that supposedly grew coins and thinking, “I’ve got to get me one of those!” (You know you’ve done it too.)

But as I grew older, I began to realize that there are many stories that can help us make sense of reality. These stories often feature heroes and adventures that resonate with us on a deep level. Some stories even have a ring of truth to them that we can’t quite explain.

For me, the Bible has become my primary source of stories. It’s a book that has everything – heroes and heroines, villains and anti-heroes, romance, tragedy, comedy, and everything in between. And if you read it with an open mind, you might just see yourself in some of those characters.

Take Samson, for example. He was strong, bold, and decisive – a real ladies’ man. But he also struggled with self-discipline around women and sex. When we read his story, it’s easy to judge him harshly. But the truth is, we all have our weaknesses and blind spots. Samson’s story reminds us that even our flaws can be used for a greater purpose.

If you’re looking for a benchmark to help you make sense of reality, I encourage you to keep interacting with the stories that light you up. Don’t be afraid to be curious and dig deeper. You might be surprised at what you discover about yourself and the world around you.

Ultimately, we are all works of art, each with our own unique purpose and potential. The more we can accept and appreciate ourselves, flaws and all, the more we can live out that purpose and make a positive impact on the world.

So, keep going, my friend. Keep seeking truth, beauty, and goodness wherever you can find it. And don’t be surprised if you’re amazed along the way.