All over the place?

Life is fast-paced, and it’s easy to get caught up in it. The only issue arises when we become engrossed in the process. After many years of living, it’s possible to feel like a stranger, unsure of who you’ve become. How does an adult come to lose their identity or authentic self?

I was connected to who I was as a child. I knew what I wanted, when I wanted it, and when it was no longer appealing to me. I was honest with myself and brave about it. As I grew older, I was subjected to social pressure to accept things that not only were unfamiliar to me, but also did not resonate with me. This accelerated the process of becoming disillusioned with myself.

As we move around, we are exposed to new perspectives on life. It is possible to drift into ways that are out of sync with our identity as long as we are not guided by our authentic self. This enables people to go through the motions without having a sustainable impact on the environment. It’s a case of having everything and not wanting it anymore. How does one know which path to take in life’s twists and turns?

We keep hearing that the answer is in your gut. How could anyone rely on their instincts? Doesn’t that sound cheesy? The truth is that the person who participates with their guts also means that their emotions play a role in sensing reality. When one is disconnected from their emotions, they are unable to perceive reality clearly enough to make an informed decision. We lose this ability as we are taught to ignore or suppress the very emotions that we require to function in life. Few people understand how to cultivate emotions so that they can be used on a daily basis.

The authentic self feels what is going on in their reality through their emotions. This enables a meaningful decision-making process based on an accurate assessment of the situation. There are those who are honest with themselves. They have a habit of making decisions that others look down on, only to reap the benefits later. Yes, being grounded in one’s authentic self serves as a good reference point for determining the best approach at any given time. There is no way to go wrong. We have the answers we seek, right where we ignore to look.